Crisp knock seals winning draw for Swaffham

SWAFFHAM bounced back from their disappointing performance against Great Witchingham to record a winning draw against Dersingham.

After being put into bat Swaffham, despite maintaining a high run rate, lost wickets at regular intervals.

After losing Oxborough early on, first-team debutant Chris Upton helped see off the openers before being dismissed for 13.

A promising partnership of 64 between Michael Crisp and Anthony Reeve was ended when Reeve was caught for a quick-fire 30.

Crisp stood and watched as both Alec and Jasper Payne and Yates were dismissed cheaply leaving Swaffham in trouble at 129-6. Number eight Matt Smith provided some much-needed support for Crisp who passed 100 in their 89 run partnership.

Dave Annakin and Jordan Lown aided Crisp as he took the Dersingham attack apart, finishing with a superb chanceless 169 not out off only 125 balls as Swaffham finished with an intimidating 305.

Unfortunately for Swaffham, the wicket remained just as true for Dersingham and despite some good bowling with the new ball both Clark and Smith went wicketless in their first spells.

Most Read

Yates came on and quickly dismissed Mallet with man-of-the-match Crisp taking a stunning catch at slip.

Manny Sayers joined his father and they scored 80 runs in a frustrating partnership. It took an even better diving catch in the outfield by 14-year-old Jasper Payne to dismiss Dickie for a typically stoic innings of 61.

The re-introduction of Smith got rid of Manny Sayers for 68 and Golaglee for two but Swaffham couldn't quite get the remaining wickets to claim an outright win as Dersingham finished on 220-5.

Crisp's innings aside, Swaffham must improve in future weeks if they are to achieve that much-needed first outright win.

Swaffham: C Upton c Golaglee b Osborne 13, C Oxborough c Felgate b Sayers 1, M Crisp not out 169, A Reeve c Sayers b Felgate 30, J Payne st Havers b McNamara 0, C Yates lbw Felgate 0, A Payne c Havers b Osborne 1, M Smith c McNamara b Arnold 27, D Annakin c Arnold b Botherton 13, J Lown b Sayers 7, B Clark not out 1; extras 43. Total (46 overs) 305-9.

Bowling: D Sayers12-1-54-2, B Botherton 12-1-87-1, L Osborne 7-0-43-2, A McNamara 4-1-25-1, S Felgate 4-0-38-2, M Saddleton 2-0-18-0, I Arnold 5-0-27-1.

Dersingham: Di Sayers c J Payne b Crisp 61, T Mallet c Crisp b Yates 11, Da Sayers c A Payne b Smith 68, B Golaglee b Smith 2, I Arnold c Lown b Clark 13, L Osborne not out 9, J Havers not out 22; extras 34. Total (46 overs) 220-5. Bowling: M Smith 12-2-42-2, B Clark 9-3-33-1, C Oxborough 11-3-62-0, C Yates 5-0-42-1, M Crisp 9-1-34-1.